Paleo Meal: Slow Cooker Beef Stew

I love fall.

I mean, I love summer because of all the time off and all that, but I really, really love fall. Tim and I took our first vacation together in the fall, we did our engagement photos in the fall, we got married in the fall. Somehow, we manage to get out of the house and go on hikes or long walks with the dogs a lot more in the fall than we do in the summer, even with our time off. There’s just something about the crisp, autumn air and the beautiful colors that really makes me happy.

This year, I’m in luck, because it seems fall has come a bit early.

The past few weeks have been cool and rainy (just how I like it), which is totally unheard of for August in Chicagoland. It’s the kind of weather that makes me want to buy a million cardigans and drink a million cups of tea and make stew in the slow cooker.

The stars must have aligned this week, because Tim came home with 2 pounds of beef tips from Trader Joe’s this week. Beef stew, here we come!

Stew is great because you can put whatever you want in it. I had a bunch of leftover veggies from various farmer’s market trips, and they had been sitting in the fridge for about a week and a half, so we were approaching the use it or lose it deadline. (In fact, some of them I had to toss anyway – sad day! I know some people will use the outside of something that has gone brown on the inside – a tomato, for example, might get a little brown from the stem on down but the outside is still nice and red – but I will not. I just can’t do it. Sometimes this means we waste food. I know; I am a terrible person.)

When you’re making soups or stews, it’s also a great time to make some broth to use for next time. This works well for two reasons: 1) You will be using broth for your meal, so you’ll need to replenish your supply; and, 2) You can add veggie scraps to your boiling broth as you chop for your stew, thus wasting nothing. I have a recipe here! Enjoy.

I’ve adapted this recipe from this Food.com recipe. It calls for flour to thicken the stew. I omitted that completely, but if you like your stew more like gravy, you can experiment with coconut flour or almond flour and it will still be Paleo-friendly.

20130814-123027.jpg

Paleo Slow Cooker Beef Stew

You will need:
2 lbs stewing beef, cubed
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
2 cups homemade vegetable broth (store bought broth of any kind would work fine, too)
1 teaspoon paprika
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
6 garlic cloves, minced
1 onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, sliced
4 carrots, sliced
3 sweet potatoes, cubed

1. Put your beef at the bottom of the slow cooker. I put mine in frozen, but if you don’t want to do that for safety reasons, you can thaw it first.

2. Chop your veggies (garlic, onion, celery, carrots, sweet potatoes). Add them to the pot.

3. Combine salt, pepper, paprika, Worcestershire sauce, and broth. Mix it all together and pour it over the ingredients in the pot.

4. Cook on low for 10-12 hours or high for 4-6 hours.

 

2 thoughts on “Paleo Meal: Slow Cooker Beef Stew

  1. Just got a slow cooker when helping a friend move. I’ve been a lazy mook about it, but hopefully this’ll get me going it. Thanks Samsa!

    • Mike! It’s been a while! Good to hear from you. 🙂

      My slow cooker is my bestie, for realz. Put all the stuff in it in the morning, go to work, and come home to a meal. And, if you clean up after you put the stuff in it in the morning (which you will, because you’re not a slob), your kitchen is clean when you get home, too. Win-win.

Leave a Reply

