Paleo Pumpkin Spiced Latte

I think I’ve said it before here, but I love fall. Love it. It is my favorite time of year. This might be because of the crisp, cool weather, or because it’s back-to-school time. It might also be because I love fall colors – all of the browns, reds, and clear blue skies. As an added bonus, I love pumpkin. Pumpkin seeds, pumpkin beer, pumpkin breads and cookies, and, of course, the pumpkin spiced latte.

The first pumpkin spiced latte of the year is always the best. It’s been so long since you last had one that once that pumpkin pie flavored, sugary, caffeinated goodness hits your lips, it’s like a little slice of fall heaven.

Mmmmmmm…

Here’s the problem, though. (As if there’s only one.) PSLs aren’t Paleo. Not in the least. They’re chock full of espresso, dairy, and sugar. I’m almost positive whatever pumpkin is in there isn’t real, either, which completely eliminates any nutrients you might have gotten from the fruit. As with most things that are so good, this one is not that good for you.

Naturally, then, I set out on a Pinterest quest to find Paleo Pumpkin Spiced Latte recipes. And find them, I did. There are about a million recipes out there – so many that it’s almost overwhelming. Which one to choose? Since yesterday was the first really crisp, fall day and we needed to go grocery shopping, I chose the first recipe I found to which I had all the ingredients lying around in my pantry and made it. I have to say, I was not disappointed! I was even able to enjoy it on my patio in the sun. Did I mention how much I love fall?

20130915-160341.jpg

Paleo Pumpkin Spiced Latte
Makes 1 Latte
Adapted from Civilized Caveman Cooking Creations

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 tbsp canned pureed pumpkin – not pumpkin pie mix, just the pumpkin
  • 1 tbsp organic or imitation vanilla extract
  • scant 2 tbsp raw honey
  • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup strong coffee
Instructions
  1. Brew your coffee.
  2. In a sauce pan over medium heat, add all the remaining ingredients. Stir frequently, and heat until milk is bubbling.
  3. Pour milk mixture into a mug, then add coffee.
  4. Stir it up and enjoy!

This was absolutely delicious. I do think I added a bit too much nutmeg and found myself wishing I used allspice or pumpkin pie spice instead. I also enjoyed the addition of the honey because I think it gave it that saccharine quality of Starbucks’ PSLs, but I might take that down to 1 tablespoon next time. Also, if you don’t stir it constantly as you drink it, you sort of end up eating the end of it because a lot of the pumpkin settles to the bottom, but that’s just a sign of a healthy, homemade beverage! Just be sure to serve these with spoons if you are handing them out to company.

I have a feeling this will quickly become my fall (and winter!) weekend treat. I can’t wait to try out some tweaks to this recipe, including mixing it with chai tea instead of coffee. YUM!

Leave a Reply

