Paleo Smoothie: Green Pumpkin Smoothie

‘Tis pumpkin season! I’m so excited about this, because pumpkin is one of my favorite things. I love eating them in pretty much everything from pies to side dishes, drinking them in delightful beverages from pumpkin spiced lattes to pumpkin beer, eating the seeds both raw and roasted, decorating my yard with them… the possibilities are endless! How can you go wrong? Pumpkins take center stage from late September until after Thanksgiving, and rightfully so. They are generally inexpensive and you can get a lot out of them – food, seeds, and decor! Plus, when you flavor it with all the right spices, you have a cinnamon-ey, comforting starch that’s better than potatoes any day (though I do often pair pumpkin with sweet potatoes, as you will see in my next post!) because it’s packed with beta carotene and vitamin A which is great for your overall health.

Pumpkin is so awesome, I’ll actually try to put it in just about anything. Including my green smoothies.

If you are a little confused by this because orange pumpkin is completely opposite of green spinach on the color wheel, you were obviously paying close attention in art class because you are correct. However, just because something isn’t green doesn’t mean you can’t put it in a green smoothie! The awesome thing about coconut milk and spinach is that neither really taste like anything, so you can add whatever flavors you want to get the smoothie you desire and still get a serving of green leafies in your smoothie.

The idea to add pumpkin to my green smoothies came to me as I was prepping this week’s meals. As often happens, I was sipping a beer as I prepped. This week, it happened to be a KBC Pumpkin Ale from Trader Joe’s – my absolute, all-time favorite pumpkin beer (which is why I’m OK with it not being Paleo in the least; it’s worth a cheat!). As I was drinking it, I thought to myself, “Wouldn’t it be great if I could get this flavor in a drink that was actually good for me?” And BAM! It hit me. Pumpkin smoothies.

This recipe is an experiment adapted from Nom Eat Nom, and I think it turned out really great! I drank all the leftovers, and I’m pretty excited to drink the rest of these bad boys this week.

20130929-173657.jpg

Green Pumpkin Smoothie
Makes one smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie mix, just the pumpkin)
  • about 3 cups raw spinach
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • scant tablespoon Trader Joe’s Pumpkin Butter (you could substitute maple syrup or honey for this if you don’t have it; I would also recommend not buying it from that link because it’s only $5-ish in the store and $13 is ridiculous to pay for it – I just included the link so you would know what it is)
  • You could also add some nut butter if you wanted to have a little more protein
    If you are drinking this right away and not freezing it as part of your meal prep, add some ice

    Directions

  • Toss everything into a blender and process for about a minute. Pour into a glass, chill, and enjoy!
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    