Paleo Meal: Chicken Tortilla Soup, Minus the Tortilla

Well. I haven’t been around much this past month, have I? I’d love to offer you a bunch of excuses like I’m coaching speech team this year, which means the hubs has been doing most of the cooking or he’s been training for a marathon so, even when I do the cooking I’m making boring things that fill him up for his long runs or I just haven’t had the energy to try out new recipes lately because I’ve been so busy that I’ve been falling back on the old favorites.

All of these things are true. All of these things are reasons why I haven’t been around here much lately. I’m mostly interested in ease and utility when it comes to food these days, which means we’ve been indoor grilling a lot of steaks and sausages and pairing them with some sort of vegetable that can be steamed. Either that, or we’re tossing things into the slow cooker and hoping for the best.

I’m still doing Paleo. Mostly. Except when I cheat and eat pizza. Or muffins. Or bagels. Or coffee cake. Or hunks of cheese.

OK. So I haven’t been that good. Especially this weekend. Not only was it Tim’s birthday (meaning I had to make the obligatory chocolate Guinness cake with cream cheese frosting – I know, twist my arm, right?) but it was also his second marathon, which meant carb-loading the night before and celebratory pizza afterwards. While I passed up the pre-marathon carbs in favor of some braised short ribs at the restaurant, I find it absolutely impossible to turn down Lou Malnati’s pizza when it is sitting RIGHT THERE IN FRONT OF ME. Also, did I mention chocolate Guinness cake with cream cheese frosting? You see my dilemma.

This morning, then, I woke up feeling pretty awful. They say there is such a thing as a carb hangover. I believe it. It was also snowing which meant it was clearly time to bust out the slow cooker and make a nice hearty, cleansing soup.

The spices in this chicken non-tortilla soup felt cleansing, warming, and flavorful without being overwhelming. Even Tim, who HATES spicy foods, said he liked it a lot. Plus, there are lots of leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Perfect for my mini Crockpot warmer!

20131111-204533.jpg

Chicken Tortilla Soup, Minus the Tortilla
adapted from Sooo Paleo

Ingredients:

– 1 white onion, chopped
– 1 red bell pepper, diced
– 2 lbs chicken breast (fresh or frozen)
– 2 teaspoons cumin
– scant 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
– 1 teaspoon garlic powder
– salt and pepper, to taste
– 1 (4oz) can diced green chiles
– 1 (14oz) can diced roasted tomatoes
– 32 oz of broth (I used organic low sodium veggie broth)
– juice of 2 limes
Directions:
Toss everything into the slow cooker except the juice from the limes. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or high for 3-4 hours. Take the chicken out, shred it, and put it back in. Squeeze the juice from the limes into the soup and stir. Serve warm with sliced avocados if you’ve got them. (I didn’t, and it tasted just fine!)
4 thoughts on “Paleo Meal: Chicken Tortilla Soup, Minus the Tortilla

  1. Pingback: DIY Chicken Bone Broth | The Samsanator Cooks

Leave a Reply

