Paleo Side: Nutty Sweet Potato and Cranberries

I’ve mentioned that I love sweet potatoes before, right? Well, I love sweet potatoes. In these winter months, they are pretty much the only thing that will fill me up that I don’t feel super guilty about. (I’ve been eating a lot of crackers and cheese lately. I’m hungry.) The only thing is that, sometimes they get boring and it’s tedious to bake them or boil them for an hour or so when the main course is made already.

I got this idea for a side when I decided to break down and use my microwave to make some quick sweet potatoes. I didn’t want to just eat the potato, so I decided to get in some more comforting, Thanksgiving-y flavors in there. This is a quick, easy side that’s pretty sweet, so pair it with some salty meat like lamb.

20131211-175127.jpg

Paleo Nutty Sweet Potato and Cranberries

Ingredients:
2 sweet potatoes
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/8 cup pecans, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Prick the sweet potatoes all over with a fork. Put them in the microwave for 8 minutes, turning once halfway through.
2. After the sweet potatoes are cooked, cut them in half and scoop out the insides into a bowl. Optional: Save the skins to serve the finished mixture in.
3. Add the cranberries, pecans, salt, and pepper. Combine and serve!

Leave a Reply

