Paleo Quiche: Eggs, Veggies, and Yumminess – Oh My!

I love quiche. I don’t think there is a way I can convey my absolute adoration of quiche through the internet. I just love it so much. My mom used to make two different types of quiches to wake us up on Christmas morning, and we pretty much never had quiche except that day. It seems that I have a tendency to associate my favorite foods with holidays and celebrations. (*ahem*… pumpkin and sweet potatoes). Regardless, I love quiche.

Once I moved out and subsequently stole the quiche recipes from my mom, I started making them all the time. I never realized how easy quiches were to make! Chop the veggies, scramble the eggs, stir in the cheese and cream along with everything else, pour into a pre-made pie crust and bake! It was almost as good as tossing something into the slow cooker, because they took about an hour to bake and you could go do something else while they were cooking. Plus, quiche is pretty much the only meal you can eat for dinner, then have the leftovers for breakfast AND lunch. That is, unless you’re a cold pizza for breakfast kind of person. I, personally, find that disgusting.

As you can see, my love of quiche knows no bounds. However, with all the dairy and gluten in most quiche recipes, I had to give them up when I changed my lifestyle. Next to pizza, quiche was definitely the food I miss the most. The difference between pizza and quiche, however, is that, for pizza, there really is no acceptable Paleo substitute. Dairy-free cheese with an almond meal crust? No thanks. If I want pizza, I’ll use a cheat day to have it. Quiche, though, is just eggs, veggies, cheese, and cream plus some kind of crust. It would make sense that there be a delicious Paleo version somewhere, right?

If you answered “yes,” you are correct! I did a little searching on the internets and found this one from Food Loves Writing. Naturally, I set about making it right away and it was amazing. Tim, however, didn’t like it at all. See that 1/8 teaspoon of cayenne pepper in that ingredients list? Yea… Tim really hates spicy food, and that cayenne pepper gave this thing some serious kick.

So, obviously, I set about altering the ingredients to make a less spicy, more savory version, which follows. This is now my go-to quiche recipe for everything from potluck Sunday brunch with the girls to a snow day lunch with breakfast leftovers on a frigid day like today. The other great thing about this is you really can make it with whatever veggies you have in the house. I’ve used all colors and types of onions and peppers, broccoli, carrots – whatever you’ve got!

image

Paleo Quiche
adapted from Food Loves Writing

Ingredients:
1 generous spoonful of coconut oil plus extra for greasing the pan
a few handfuls of baby spinach
1 red onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, diced
10 asparagus spears, ends trimmed then chopped into 1-inch pieces
6 eggs
1/2 cup chicken stock
3 tablespoons almond meal
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
dash cayenne powder
dash black pepper

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9-inch pie pan with coconut oil. Set aside.
2. Heat generous spoonful of coconut oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper, and asparagus. Cook for 5 minutes or until onions are translucent and asparagus is bright green, stirring occasionally. Remove from heat.
3. While your veggies are cooling, combine all of the rest of the ingredients in a medium bowl. Whisk together. Add cooked veggies and spinach and stir to combine.
4. Pour mixture into greased pie pan. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

2 thoughts on “Paleo Quiche: Eggs, Veggies, and Yumminess – Oh My!

  1. Pingback: Paleo Brunch: Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake | The Samsanator Cooks

  2. Very good site you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

