15 Smoothies in 15 Days, Day 2: Chocolate Banana Smoothie

I’ve never been a huge chocolate person. I’ve enjoyed a square or two of dark chocolate or a melt-in-your-mouth truffle on occasion, but I never craved it. Chocolate ice cream or fudge on a sundae? Skip it and give me the plain, old vanilla. A handful of chocolate candies? No thanks.

Enter pregnancy and, suddenly, I. Love. Chocolate. Dark chocolate, milk chocolate, chocolate shakes, mint chocolate chip ice cream (I seriously cannot get enough of that stuff), oatmeal chocolate chip cookies… You name it, I’ll eat it. Just now, even talking about chocolate, I had to walk over to the cabinet and get some.

I’m not sure what’s up with that. I don’t even CRAVE it, like I absolutely have to have it RIGHT NOW, but if given the opportunity, I won’t pass it up.

So, when I came across this recipe, I figured, why not give it a try? Coconut milk, coconut oil, chocolate, and a banana? Doesn’t sound like you can lose.

Frankly, it was just OK. It definitely satisfied my chocolate craving, but it could have been a little thicker and sweeter. If I made it again, I might add an avocado for some added health benefits plus a little extra creaminess. I did, however, feel full and satisfied after drinking it, which is tough to do these days.

20140802-145554-53754014.jpg

Chocolate Banana Smoothie
Makes one smoothie
Adapted from Skinny Ms

Ingredients:
-1 cup coconut milk
-1 banana
-2 tablespoons cocoa powder
-a good shake of the cinnamon shaker (to taste)
-2 tablespoons almond butter
-1 tablespoon coconut oil
-1 avocado (optional)
-ice cubes

Directions:
Add everything to the blender, blend until it’s liquified, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

