15 Smoothies in 15 Days, Day 8: Pumpkin Peanut Butter Perfection Smoothie

Pumpkin is my favorite thing of all time. All. Time. Pumpkin pie is my absolute favorite food ever. This is probably a huge reason why I love fall, because I know that pumpkins are on their way. It’s also a huge reason why I’m excited for a fall baby, because, hopefully, she will also love fall and we will have many fall birthdays to enjoy pumpkins and changing leaves and cooler temperatures together.

It makes sense, then, that I horde cans of pureed pumpkin. There was one year I remember that there was a shortage of pumpkins in the Midwest and it was almost impossible to get cans of pumpkin for Thanksgiving. I will not let that happen again.

(Incidentally, this year, I am also going to horde pumpkin beer, but that’s because I don’t want to miss the brief pumpkin beer season and won’t be able to drink any until the baby is born.)

So, because of our intense nesting this summer which included cleaning out our pantry, we found four cans of pumpkin plus a jar of pumpkin butter. Hello, early fall!

I got the idea to combine pumpkin and peanut butter from Pinterest (How’s that for some alliteration?), but was wary of it at first. Peanut butter and I have had a love-hate relationship this pregnancy. A smear of peanut butter on toast was one of the only things I could eat in early pregnancy. Now, just the smell of it usually reminds me of how sick I was and I tend to avoid it. Plus, peanut butter isn’t Paleo. But, I use the all-natural kind from Trader Joe’s, so I feel like there are probably worse things I could be eating.

So, despite my reservations about peanut butter, I realized this morning that I needed a smoothie that didn’t involve berries, just for something different. I figured, what do I have to lose? Pumpkin, spices, and coconut milk? Yum.

Holy cow, am I glad I made this smoothie. It is my absolute favorite so far. Its creamy goodness has subtle hints of pumpkin pie and just a touch of peanut butter. It is amazing. Seriously, you won’t regret making this one, even if you are Paleo.

This recipe is a combination of several I read this morning, but the end result is entirely my own.

IMG_0022.JPG

Pumpkin Peanut Butter Perfection Smoothie
Makes two 16-oz smoothies

Ingredients:
-2 cups coconut milk
-2 bananas
-1/2 cup pumpkin puree
-4 tablespoons peanut butter
-2 tablespoons coconut oil
-1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
-1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
-1/2 teaspoon ginger
-Ice cubes

Directions:
Blend and enjoy!

One thought on “15 Smoothies in 15 Days, Day 8: Pumpkin Peanut Butter Perfection Smoothie

Leave a Reply

