Bonus Pumpkin Recipe: Paleo Pumpkin Bread

Y’all know by now that I love pumpkin. (Need proof? Here’s some. And another. And another. And one more.)

Here’s the thing about pumpkin, though, especially in smoothies and lattes, which are my favorite places to put it: Usually, those recipes only call for 1/4 of a cup, maybe 1/2 of a cup at most. So, what do you do with the rest of that precious pumpkin? Usually, I put it in a container and stuff it in the fridge, only to forget about it later.

But today, I felt a little adventurous and decided to make some easy Paleo pumpkin bread with the leftover pumpkin from my earlier pumpkin peanut butter smoothie.

This bread is pretty good. And, by “pretty good,” I mean I just ate two slices of it as soon as it had cooled enough out of the oven. It definitely hits the spot if you’re looking for a moist bread for breakfast or a snack. It’s only a little sweet, which I think could be remedied if I used the full 1/2 cup of honey or if I used maple syrup. I only had about 1/3 of a cup of honey left, though, so I went with it.

If I make it again, which I will, I will probably include pecans and dark chocolate chips to make it a little sweeter and more filling and to give it some chunky texture. Plus, the chocolate would add a little bit more sweetness. I’d also definitely double the spices. I always put in heaping amounts of the spices anyway, but I’d be sure to double them next time for a little more flavor. The cool thing about this bread recipe is that you can modify it quite a bit and still retain the integrity of the bread.

IMG_0023.JPG

Easy Paleo Pumpkin Bread
Makes 1 loaf or 2 mini loaves
Recipe adapted from Spinach for Breakfast

Ingredients:
-2 cups almond meal
-3/4 teaspoon baking soda
-1 teaspoon cinnamon
-1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
-1/4 teaspoon ginger
-1/2 teaspoon salt
-1/2 cup pumpkin puree
-1/3-1/2 cup honey or maple syrup
-2 eggs
-optional: 1 cup dark chocolate chips + 1/2 cup chopped pecans

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease your pan with coconut oil.
2. Combine the dry ingredients in a large bowl. This includes almond meal, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and salt.
3. Combine the wet ingredients in a smaller bowl. This includes pumpkin, honey or maple syrup, and eggs.
4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Mix until combined.
5. If using chocolate chips and pecans, fold those into the batter.
6. Pour batter into the loaf pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

